December Sephora Play! Box 

Before I get started, let me warn you guys you will have a plethora of material coming your way. I recently returned from studying in Europe for six months, and was greated to this pile of packages.


One of my first packages to open was my December Sephora Play! Box, as pictured below.


Whereas the bag included is usually of white variety, I loved this month’s black bag with metallic writing. Very sleek and festive, and something I could see myself reusing.

Here’s a peak into what we received this month, and spoiler alert I think it’s one of my favorite boxes yet. 🙂

UD All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray – this is a staple in the beauty community as I’m sure many of you know. It’s a weightless mist to keep your makeup from, literally, having a meltdown for hours on end. Seriously I can put this on before going out and at the end of the night my makeup looks like it was just applied. It hasn’t melted, faded, or settled into my pores at all. It’s seriously a miracle worker and a staple in my collection, so I’m always happy to welcome more of it.
Drybar Detox Dry Shampoo – when I decide to splurge and buy something a step up from my regular drugstore shampoo, it’s to buy this stuff. Really I think I should just take out stock in the dry shampoo industry because I use this stuff like it’s going out of style (but let’s be real, it never will). I like this formula because Drybar formulates it’s products without sulfates, phthalates, and parabens. Also, it’s made in the USA and is cruelty free. Love! This stuff works so well in my hair to soak up excess oil while also giving me volume and texture. I love that Sephora included this in this month’s box for people to try out, and I’ll most certainly be keeping this on my purse.

Lancôme Hypnose Drama Mascara

I was initially weary of this mascara because of its uniquely-shaped wand, but that ended up being one of my favorite parts about it. This mascara gave me ultra black, defined, volumized lashes. Perfect for any dramatic look. It didn’t flake or smudge on me (a problem I frequently have with mascaras). Despite it’s somewhat hefty price tag, I must admit this product is a great formula and I loved it.

Makeup Forever Step 1 Skin Equalizer
I had only previously tried the hydrating primer and while I was excited to try this, I was worried about how it’d work on my Minnesota winter skin (aka dry and dehydrated). I didn’t find it clung to any of my dry patches, but while I enjoyed it I didn’t think it did anything special. It was basically a standard, pore-filling primer. There’s many drugstore primers I’ve tried that I’ve found work just as well, such as the NYX Pore Filler.

Elizabeth and James NIRVANA Rose Perfume
SO EXCITED to have received this!! I have both other perfumes from this line and love their sexy scents and great formula, so I had high expectations for this perfume. It did not disappoint. It had a sensual fragrance, and, as the name suggests is in the floral family. It wasn’t sickly sweet, though, but rather filled with dark rose and notes of geranium. I think it’s a perfect winter scent and I’m positively obsessed. Will definitely be buying the full size.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain – Rouge

Again I had never tried this product before, so I was excited to receive it in my box. This product is a lightweight, bold crimson red stain. It was more moisturizing than similar products I had tried before, which my dry winter lips appreciated. When I swatched it, the product applied smoothly and not patchy whatsoever, which I was pleasantly surprised by. The same was true for when I applied it to my lips, although I did exfoliate them beforehand for good measure. 🙂 It took a minute to dry down, but once it did I found this product to be smudge-free. This color is perfect for the holiday season as well!

Overall, I thought this month’s box was a huge hit. It had some cult favorites, as well as a couple products I wouldn’t have normally picked up. Everything was of good quality I thought, no duds for me.

Do you receive the Sephora Play! Box? What were your thoughts this month?

XOXO,

Schyler 

Leave a Reply

